Karl Weigl: Symphony No. 1 · Pictures and Tales

JÜRGEN BRUNS (conductor)

C5364 PC: 21 845221053653

KARL WEIGL (1881 – 1949)
[1] – [4] Symphonie Nr. 1 E-Dur, op. 5 (1908)
Symphony no. 1 in E major, Op. 5 (1908)
[5] – [10] Bilder und Geschichten 
Suite für kleines Orchester, op. 2 (1922)
Pictures and Tales Suite for small orchestra, Op. 2 (1922)

RGEN BRUNS (Dirigent / conductor)

‘I have always viewed Dr. Weigl as one of the best composers of the old generation; one of those continuing the illustrious Viennese tradition.' - Arnold Schönberg
In terms of style, with his works linked to basic tonalities Weigl drew on the sound realm of late Romanticism, from whose aesthetics he never departed in favour of more progressive contemporary trends. The Symphony No. 1 in E major op. 5, written in 1908, is also far removed from any avant-garde experiments in the Romantic tradition, as epitomized among the Austrian composers of that time in the field of the symphony by e.g. Alexander von Zemlinsky, Emil Nikolaus von Reznicek or Franz Schmidt. In the autumn of 1938 Weigl emigrated from Vienna via France and Great Britain to the USA, where he initially had to accept musical odd jobs, gave private lessons and was finally able to work as a teacher at different musical institutes such as the Boston Conservatory and the Philadelphia Academy of Music.

Weitere Bilder